MY NAME

my name

I have a name

It is a name everyone knows

It is a name everyone calls me

It is a name given to me by my father

A name given to me by my mother

A name they all call me

A name I write with ink

It is my name

It is just a name

It doesn’t define who I am

It is just a name

Like a label on a tin

It is just a name

A name it is

This is my name

A name

A name

I don’t like the name

I want to change the name

It doesn’t define who I am

It is just a name

I’m deeper than the label

The label is just too simple

It doesn’t define who I am

It is just a name

I’ve picked a new name

But it is more like a sentence

It is long but it defines me

It is who I am

Can I tell them what my new name is?

I can imagine how hard they’ll laugh

I love my new name

I don’t want sarcasm to ruin it

I don’t care what they all call me

I know my name

I know who I am

I’m more than a label

I’m a more complex being

I call myself my new name

It is who I am

The world can give me a label

Everyone can call me what they like

But truly

Truly…truly

I know who I am

I’m more than a label

I am me

I am more than just a name

 

 

 

By Sylvia Chika

sylviachika@gmail.com

http://sylviachika.blogspot.com/

https://sylviachika.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/sylviachikablog

Twitter:@sylviaoz

 

Leave a Reply

