My Fish

my fish1

He wanted my fish

I objected

He asked again

I refused

He pleaded

I said “No!”

“Why take my fish?”

I had a better deal to offer

I made the offer

He wasn’t interested

He wanted my fish

I tried to persuade him

“Let me show you the lake…

You can catch a million fishes there…

You can eat and still be rich” I said to him

He shrugged

Rolled his ignorant eyes at me

And stretched out his hand to grab my fish

I was amazed at his foolishness

Why take my fish?

Just to put it in a dish?

Why not seize the opportunity and catch a million fishes

Sell them

Make some money

Fill your empty purse

And go catch some more

Why dwell in a moment

And forsake a bright future

Why beg me for one

When you can lend me a thousand and one

Why bask in poverty

When you can swim in riches

The mindset of an ignorant man

I gave him my fish

And watched him stroll away in joy

Like a child with a new toy

What a pity!

Where ignorance abounds

So does poverty dwell

By Sylvia Chika

sylviachika@gmail.com

http://sylviachika.blogspot.com/

https://sylviachika.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/sylviachikablog

Twitter:@sylviaoz

© SylviaChika 2015

Leave a Reply

